Revised Beach Symphony Edition Samples

We are excited to announce that our revised Amy Beach Gaelic Symphony edition including score and parts is now available! For more information on this title and others, please visit our Publications page, and for inquiries or to place an order, please use our contact form.

During the editing process of our revised edition of Amy Beach’s Gaelic Symphony, meticulous effort was taken in the (1) correction of note, rhythm, articulation, text and rehearsal marking discrepancies and omissions, (2) the creation of modern transpositions for necessary instrumental parts and (3) the correction of unclear passage formatting and styling.  These emendations were made in consultation with several sources including the original handwritten orchestral score and parts made by Amy Beach, which were used in the first publication by A. P. Schmidt in 1896.  This revised edition also includes accompanying documents including (1) a preface, (2) our editorial policy and (3) a critical report with list of sources.

Below you will find sample pages from the score and 1st violin part. The score sample contains the first two pages of each of the Symphony’s four movements.  The 1st violin part consists of pp. 2, 3 & 12 from the original, handwritten 1st violin part (scans) and the matching pages from our revised edition.  Note the greater clarity and consistent style in the revised, typeset edition as well as the elimination of cluttered and sometimes overlapping notes, articulations and text like in the original, handwritten version.

Score – First two pages from each mvt. (I – IV)

1st Violin Part – Page 2

Page 3

Page 12