Indiana University Visiting Scholar Voice Recital Will Include Beach

Li Lidan of China will perform Monday, Nov. 30 at 5 p.m.  in the Landini Center for Performing and Fine Arts recital hall at Indiana State University.

Her program includes “Susser Blumen Ambra Flocken” (Handel), “Ave Maria” (Caccini), “Long Time Ago” (Aaron Copland), “Take O Take Those Lips Away” (Amy Beach), “Rompe Sprezza” (A. Scarlatti), “Soldier’s Wife” (Rachmaninoff), “Clair de Lune” (Faure) and “Meine Liebe Ist Grun” (Johannes Brahms).

The recital is free and open to the public.

For more information, click here.

Pianist Virginia Eskin Playing Beach Piano Concerto with Augusta Symphony Orchestra

The Augusta Symphony Orchestra will be performing the Piano Concerto in C-sharp minor, Op. 45 by Amy Beach with piano soloist, Virginia Eskin, and the “New World Symphony” by Antonín Dvořák.

The Augusta Symphony Orchestra Fall 2015 Concert will take place on Saturday, November 14, 2015, 7:00pm at Hope Baptist Church, Manchester, ME.

Tickets are available for purchase at the door.  Adults $10.00.  Students and children free.

For more information, please click here.

Pianist Angela Zanders and Others Will Perform Concert Including Works by Amy Beach, Rebecca Clarke (Viola Sonata) and Cecilia McDowall

The last in the series of pianist Angela Zanders’ illustrated recitals entitled ‘A Celebration of Women Composers’ takes place on Saturday, November 14, at 3pm at St. Peter’s Church in Petersfield, United Kingdom.

This recital introduces the moving and dramatic music of the American composer Amy Beach, the award-winning contemporary British composer, Cecilia McDowall, and Rebecca Clarke, featuring her most famous work, the Viola Sonata. Also featuring works by Edward MacDowell and Vaughan Williams.

Joining Angela for this recital are Margaret Humphrey Clark (mezzo soprano), Catherine Lett (violin) and Sara Deborah Timossi (viola/violin).

Entry is free with retiring collection and refreshments will be served in the interval.

For more information, click here.

New University of Wisconsin – Madison Violin Professor Soh-Hyun Park Altino Will Perform Bach, Brahms, Ives and the Romance by Amy Beach

The UW School of Music’s new violin professor will share the stage with pianist Martha Fischer in a demanding program that includes Bach’s Sonata No. 3 in C major for solo violin, Brahms’ second violin sonata, Ives’ Violin Sonata No. 2 and the soaring “Romance” by Amy Beach. The debut recital will take place during the UW School of Music faculty concert on Nov. 13 at 8pm in Mills Concert Hall of the University of Wisconsin – Madison campus. The event costs $12.

For more information, click here.

New Nashville Community Orchestra is Dedicated to Performing Works by American Composers Including Beach

Music City is about to get another orchestra. This new community ensemble, called the Nashville Citizens Orchestra, will be open to amateurs and professionals of all ages. Performances will begin next year at Gordon Jewish Community Center.

“I know there are a lot of people in Nashville who play instruments but have no outlet for their talents,” the group’s founding conductor, Gabrielle Lewis, tells the Scene. “We’re going to give them an opportunity to play.”

Lewis, a graduate of the University of Michigan who’s now studying with conductor Robin Fountain at Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music, says the Citizens Orchestra will of course perform a wide selection of European masterpieces. But she says the orchestra will also play the music of such early 20th-century American composers as William Grant Still, Amy Beach, Edward McDowell and Arthur Foote, among many others.  “These were significant composers whose music was unfortunately overshadowed by the European composers of the day,” Lewis says.

Auditions for the Citizens Orchestra will take place 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Dec. 5 and 6 at Gordon Jewish Community Center. Interested musicians will need to prepare one short lyrical piece and one short technical piece for the audition. Lewis will also have musicians read through an orchestral excerpt.

Musicians of all ages and backgrounds are welcome to apply. Interested artists must contact Lewis in advance and indicate their instrument and how long they’ve been playing. Contact Lewis at or 629-777-6517.

For more information, see here.